• Article Image Alt Text

General Election is Tuesday

Early voting ends Saturday
Share this: 

Early voting closes on Saturday, Nov. 5. On Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 8, polls will be open from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m.

As of 9:15 a.m. on Wednesday morning, Swain County voters cast 2,702 ballots during one-stop. There are 10,516 registered voters in the county.

Voters can check their registration status and polling location by visiting ncsbe.gov. 

Early voting locations in Swain County are Board of Elections Office and Birdtown Community Center. The following times apply for early voting:

Thursday, Nov. 3-Friday, Nov. 4 from 8 a.m.-6 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 5 from 8 a.m.-1 p.m.

Same-day registration is available during one stop voting but will not be available on election day. Also, voters do not have to show ID during this election. 

At the local level, voters will vote for two county commissioners. On the ballot are Democratic incumbents Steve Moon and David Monteith, with challenges from Republicans Carolyn Sue Bair and Kenneth Leonard Parton. 

Swain will also select three school board members among incumbents Mellie Burns (Republican), Jerry McKinney (Democrat) and Lambert G. Wilson (Democrat) and challenger Maurice Biggs (Democrat).

In addition to voting for candidates, Swain County voters will be casting a ‘for’ or ‘against’ vote for a Swain County local sales and use tax of one-quarter (0.25%) increase. If approved, it would increase the sales tax rate to 7 percent. 

Swain County commissioners approved the referendum to help pay for education.

For questions, contact Swain County Board of Elections Office. Call 488-6177, or visit the office at 1422 US Hwy 19 S in Bryson City. 

Results of the election will be tallied and announced at the Board of Elections Office following the closure of polls on election night. Follow Smoky Mountain Times on social media and visit www.thesmokymountaintimes.com for local results. 

Smoky Mountain Times

Mailing Address:
PO Box 730
1 River Street
Bryson City, NC 28713 
Phone: 828-488-2189
Fax: 828-488-0315